Online jargon

DC, Marvel, Image, BOOM!, Dynamite and more! Discuss everything comics and related to comics. If it's comics and Nightcrawler isn't in it, this is the place!
Booker
Shoulder Parrot
Shoulder Parrot

Online jargon

Post by Booker »

This has been nagging at me for a bit. I'm fairly new to the whole Marvel fandom, and I see reoccuring web-jargon that I can't for the life of me figure out what it means.

I've figured out several of them just by osomosis, but there are two that I can't get. When reffering to the different universes, what does "616" and "Canon" mean? And if there's any other jargon I should know, that would be nice. It sucks to be a newbie. :dead:
Royal Canadian Kilted Yaksman
Nandireya
Swashbuckler
Swashbuckler
Title: The Librarian

Online jargon

Post by Nandireya »

From what I can gather...'616' refers to the TRUE Marvel Universe...the original one...to differentiate it from all the 'alternate' ones...Exiles for example, is NOT set in the 616 universe, nor are the places they visit...

'Canon' refers to official stuff too...official comic stuff...X-Men: Evolution is not considered Canon...even though it IS official Marvel stuff...
:read The Librarian ~ Keeper of Elfin Facts :read

:bamf I'm sick of my subconscious...it's like it's got a mind of its own... :bamf

:D A Touch Of Velvet :D
Bamfette
Dread Pirate
Dread Pirate

Online jargon

Post by Bamfette »

yup, 616 comes from the Captain Britain series where the universe was named for the first time. each universe or reality in the multiverse is assigned a number, the one all the stories in the core books takes place in is 616. i guess the name stuck even tho it came form a rather obscure comic within the Marvel Universe :p
Nandireya
Swashbuckler
Swashbuckler
Title: The Librarian

Online jargon

Post by Nandireya »

Yeah...that's what I thought...the Captain Britain Corp always refered to him as 'Captain Britain 616' in Excalibur...
:read The Librarian ~ Keeper of Elfin Facts :read